clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Klay Thompson to compete in the three-point contest

Stephen Curry, on the other hand, will not be competing in the shootout.

JBL Three-Point Contest 2017 Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Klay Thompson is headed back to the three-point contest, and will try to bring the trophy back to the Golden State Warriors. The All-Star reserve accepted the invitation for the fourth year in a row.

Thompson won the contest in 2016, narrowly beating out teammate Stephen Curry. Unfortunately Curry, who has competed in the contest five times, has chosen to pass this year.

Thompson will likely be the favorite, and a win would give the Warriors three wins in the last four years, as Curry was the 2015 champion. And three wins in four years could foreshadow what will happen in the NBA Finals!

The rest of the contestants are slowly being revealed. Currently the field consists of Thompson, Bradley Beal of the Washington Wizards, Devin Booker of the Phoenix Suns, and last year’s champion, Eric Gordon of the Houston Rockets. There are eight slots, so there’s still four contestants to be announced.

For Thompson, the recognition is well deserved. He’s second in the league with 154 threes made, and also second in percentage from downtown, where he’s shooting 44.9%. In other words, he’s been absolutely dynamic from beyond the arc.

The contest will take place on Saturday, February 17, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Golden State of Mind Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Golden State Warriors news from Golden State of Mind