clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Warriors are Pacific Division champs once again

For the fourth year in a row, Golden State will finish at the top of their division.

NBA: Denver Nuggets at Golden State Warriors Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The Golden State Warriors are playing for big things. Championship things.

As the record-setting 73-win season in 2015-16 taught them, and us, even the greatest accomplishments are a little diminished if they’re not accompanied by a ring.

With that said, I’m all for celebrating those accomplishments as they come, even if they’re a foregone conclusion, as this one is. But here we go anyway, because it’s worth celebrating: The Warriors won the Pacific Division.

Mind you, the Pacific Division isn’t wildly competitive this year, with the Warriors standing far above the Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Sacramento Kings, and Phoenix Suns.

But still! Let’s not take this for granted.

The Warriors have won the division four years in a row. Prior to Steve Kerr’s inaugural season, the last time Golden State won the Pacific Division was . . . wait for it . . . 1976.

Prior to the Kerr and Stephen Curry era, the Dubs had all of two Pacific Division titles in their history. They now have six.

It’s easy to take this for granted, because it’s not nearly as exciting as the possibility to repeat as NBA champions. But six or seven years ago, we all would have lost our minds in excitement if someone had told us the Warriors would repeat as Pacific champs, let alone four-peat.

This team is special. Don’t let a million injuries and a relative “down” year let you forget it.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Golden State of Mind Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Golden State Warriors news from Golden State of Mind