clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA rescinds Draymond Green’s technical foul

Not surprisingly, the double techs given to Green and Nene have been rescinded.

NBA: Playoffs-Houston Rockets at Golden State Warriors Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA has rescinded a technical foul called against Draymond Green during Tuesday’s Game 2 between the Golden State Warriors and the Houston Rockets.

Green and Nene briefly exchanged words during the game, at which point a double technical foul was assessed. Both players were upset with the ruling, which appeared to be preemptive. The refs were hoping to avoid a chippy game, and got a little eager with the whistles.

On Wednesday morning, the league announced that the technical fouls had been rescinded, which was a predictable move.

This is big for Green and the Warriors, as it returns his tech count to three. Players are only allowed seven technical fouls during the playoffs - the seventh one comes with a one-game suspension.

Had the technical foul remained, Green would only be able to get two more T’s before worrying about a suspension. Now, however, he has three more techs that he can get without punishment.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Golden State of Mind Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Golden State Warriors news from Golden State of Mind