clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Steph Curry finished fifth in MVP voting

The Warriors had two players in the top ten, as Kevin Durant finished eighth.

NBA: Finals-Golden State Warriors at Toronto Raptors John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

The Golden State Warriors didn’t go home with any hardware at the 2019 NBA Awards Show on Monday night. But they did go home with a little bit of recognition.

After it was announced that Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo was the 2018-19 league Most Valuable Player, the full tally of MVP votes was released.

Warriors point guard Steph Curry finished fifth in the voting, earning votes from 61 of the 101 media members.

Curry received 16 third place votes, 25 fourth place votes, and 20 fifth place votes.

Also receiving MVP votes was Kevin Durant, who finished eighth for the award. Durant was given two third place votes, four fourth place votes, and three fifth place votes.

If you can’t see the embedded image, here are final results in the MVP voting. First place votes are worth 10 points, second place votes are worth seven points, third place votes are worth five points, fourth place votes are worth three points, and fifth place votes are worth one point.

1. Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks (941 points)
2. James Harden, Houston Rockets (776 points)
3. Paul George, Oklahoma City Thunder (356 points)
4. Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets (212 points)
5. Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors (175 points)
6. Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers (69 points)
7. Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers (49 points)
8. Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors (25 points)
9. Kawhi Leonard, Toronto Raptors (8 points)
10. Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder (3 points)
T-11. Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz (1 point)
T-11. LeBron James, Los Angeles Lakers (1 point)

Somewhat surprisingly, the fifth place finish is the third highest in Curry’s career. Other than his back-to-back years winning the award, Curry had never finished in the top five until this season.

It’s the seventh time he’s received votes for the award, as he’s also finished sixth twice, as well as 10th and 11th.

It’s the ninth time that Durant has been given MVP votes. He won the award in 2013-14, has finished second on three occasions, fifth twice, and seventh and ninth once.

The Warriors have now had multiple players receive MVP votes in five straight years.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Golden State of Mind Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Golden State Warriors news from Golden State of Mind