clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA to retire the number 6 throughout the league in honor of Bill Russell

Russell becomes the first player in league history to have his number retired across the NBA.

2015 NBA Finals - Golden State Warriors v Cleveland Cavaliers Photo by Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images

A little over a week has passed and the basketball world continues to mourn the death of NBA legend, Bill Russell. To honor the immense impact that he had on the league and the world as a whole, the league announced on Thursday that they will be retiring his No. 6 across all teams in the NBA.

In addition to retiring his number, the league will pay tribute by displaying a No. 6 logo on every NBA court while having players wear a commemorative patch in Russell’s honor. For the players who currently wear the No. 6 in the NBA, they will be grandfathered into the rule. This means that they may continue to wear the No. 6, however, the league will cease to issue that jersey number moving forward. Here is the list of players who currently wear the No. 6:

  • LeBron James
  • Alex Caruso
  • Kristaps Porzingis
  • Lou Williams
  • Montrezl Harrell
  • Lance Stephenson
  • Nickeil Alexander-Walker
  • Hamidou Diallo
  • Bryn Forbes
  • Quentin Grimes
  • Jalen McDaniels
  • Jordan McLaughlin
  • Kenyon Martin Jr.
  • Moses Brown
  • David Duke Jr.
  • Melvin Frazier
  • Keon Johnson
  • Javonte Smart
  • Rayjon Tucker

*Fun Fact: the last Golden State Warriors player to ever wear No. 6 is Alen Smailagić.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Golden State of Mind Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Golden State Warriors news from Golden State of Mind